Skip to Main Content

Open Educational Resources (OER)

English and Literature Resources

Bartleby Classic collections of literature, such as Harvard Classics. 

Folger Digital Texts Digital Shakespeare.

Internet Archive Digital Library of Free Books, Movies, Software, Music, Websites, & more. Also provides the "WayBack Machine" that searches the historic internet.

Open Anthology of Literature in English From the University of Virginia, an anthology in progress of writing in English from 1650-1800.

Project Gutenberg Full-text of public-domain books including thousands of works of classic literature, American and British. 

Questia Over 5000 books and journal articles on humanities and social sciences.

Philosophy Resources

Bartleby Classic collections of literature and philosophy full-text, such as Harvard Classics.

Philosophy Textbooks - Open Textbook Library Easy to use in various formats.

Project Gutenberg Full-text of public-domain books including thousands of major philosophical works.

Humanities

ACLS Humanities Ebook Project Provides full-text access to several hundred books which have been specifically selected for their importance to historical studies.

American Yawp A Free and Online, Collaboratively Built American History Textbook

Digital Culture Books A project of the University of Michigan, groundbreaking books on digital humanities. 

Getty Library Virtual Publications Over 300 books on art, architecture and more.  

Internet Archive Digital Library of Free Books, Movies, Software, Music, Websites, & more. Also provides the "WayBack Machine" that searches the historic internet.

Open Library of Humanities A British site that is a charitable organization dedicated to publishing open access scholarship. Peer reviewed open access journals in classics, modern languages and cultures, philosophy, theology and history and more.

Open Library of Humanities Special Collections

The Path to Funding: The Artist’s Guide to Building Your Audience, Generating Income, and Realizing Career Sustainability. Open access textbook for funding of creative projects. 

ProcessArts An open online archive of arts learning resources sharing day-to-day practice and research of art, design and media.

Public Speaking: The Virtual Text From the Public Speaking Project

US History from Lard Bucket 1865-Present

 

 

 

Foreign Language Learning

Center for Open Educational Resources and Language Learning The Center for Open Educational Resources & Language Learning (COERLL) is one of 16 National Foreign Language Resource Centers (LRC's) funded by the U.S. Department of Education  to improve the teaching and learning of foreign languages by producing resources (materials and best practices) that can be profitably employed in a variety of settings.

BBC Languages - French Many free "learn French" resources.

BBC Languages - Spanish Many free "learn Spanish" resources. 

French in Action A video instructional series in French for college and high school classrooms and adult learners; 52 half-hour video programs, audiocassettes, coordinated books, and Web site

Open Culture Free language lessons for 48 languages!

Open Learn Languages from Open University. Free language courses in many languages

World Languages Community Portal Merlot World Languages resources. Includes Korean, Arabic, Hebrew and many others. 

 

STEM

American Institute of Mathematics Institute approved open textbooks.

AMSER Applied Math and Science Education Repository 

arXiv Pre-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics

Ensemble Computing Resources  An array of computing education resources and collections.

FLOSS Manuals A community making great, flexible, user-friendly manuals together.

Green Tea Press Free books, mostly on programming, by Allen Downey, professor at Olin College of Engineering.

National Science Digital Library OER for teaching and learning, with current emphasis on the sciences, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM)

Open Oregon Notably for math PreTeXt project, funded by the the American Institute of Mathematics. Included many other subjects as well.

OpenStax OpenStax College is an initiative of Rice University. Free textbooks are developed and peer-reviewed by educators made possible through various foundation and philanthropic collaborations. Especially strong in STEM subjects.

PLOS Biology "Works of exceptional significance, originality, and relevance in all areas of biological science, from molecules to ecosystems."

Springer Open Access (available on the DOAB platform) Major STEM publisher. 

Psychology and Social Work

Noba Open source psychology textbooks and useable learning modules.  

Open Social Work Social work and related social studies.

African American Topics

Schomburg Digital Library Links to thousands of open access books and journals devoted to Africa and/or the African Diaspora and other more general materials of interest to research in the history and cultures of the black world.

Engineering Resources

APL Bioengineering Devoted to research at the intersection of Biology, Physics, and Engineering including delivery and tissue engineering to biosensors and biomedical devices.