Skip to Main Content

Open Access (OA) Resources

Free and Open Access Collections

These resources are freely available to search and download articles from without needing a subscription or library access.

arXiv.org
arXiv is a free distribution service and an open-access archive for nearly 2.4 million scholarly articles in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics.
Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB)
Over 87,500 academic peer-reviewed books.

Directory of Open Access Journals
A community-curated online directory of freely accessible, peer reviewed journals. Indexes over 10,000 journals across a wide variety of subjects.
HathiTrust Digital Library
HathiTrust is a collaborative digital repository featuring content from research libraries, the Google Book project, and Internet Archive.

medRxiv
Collection of preprints (works that have not been certified by peer review) in the health sciences.
OpenAlex
Indexes open biomedical research from across the world.
PubMed Central
A free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM)

Browser Extensions

These browser extensions make it easier to access open access materials.

Open Access Button
Searches across thousands of free open access sources to find full-text journals.
Unpaywall
Searches across a database of over 20 million free scholarly articles to find full-text.